Gluck: Orfeo ed Euridice / Baker, Leppard, LPO

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

British mezzo-soprano, Dame Janet Baker, chose to retire from the operatic stage singing the title role in Sir Peter Hall's acclaimed production of Orfeo ed Euridice. This 1982 recording from Glyndebourne, where Dame Janet appropriately began her professional career, proved a suitable crowning glory to the career of one of the great singing actresses of our age. Dame Janet's realisation of Orfeo, the grieving musician from Greek mythology, who follows his beloved wife Euridice to the depths of Hades in an attempt to bring her back from the dead, is totally convincing “… a quite staggering performance …” (MusicWeb International)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 20, 2023

  • Catalog Number: OA 1372D

  • UPC: 809478013723

  • Label: Opus Arte

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Christoph Gluck

  • Conductor: Raymond Leppard

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Glyndebourne Festival Chorus, London Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Janet Baker, Elisabeth Speiser, Elizabeth Gale


  1. Orfeo ed Euridice

    Composer: Christoph Willibald Gluck

    Ensemble: London Philharmonic Orchestra, Glyndebourne Festival Chorus

    Performer: Janet Baker (Mezzo-Soprano), Elisabeth Speiser (Soprano), Elizabeth Gale (Soprano)

    Conductor: Raymond Leppard