Hailstork: An American Port Of Call / Falletta, Virginia Symphony

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Award-winning composer Adolphus Hailstork is a vibrant communicator whose music speaks directly and subtly. His Symphony No 1 was commissioned for festival performance and is imbued with the lyrical and vivid qualities of which he is a master. The Three Spirituals are richly affecting orchestral settings originally written for pipe organ. Fanfare on Amazing Grace is nobly conceived and An American Port of Call evokes the bustle inspired by Norfolk, Virginia. Whitman’s Journey is a hymn of hope for those setting out on ‘the seas of life.’

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 26, 2012

  • Catalog Number: 8559722

  • UPC: 636943972229

  • Label: Naxos

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Adolphus Hailstork

  • Conductor: JoAnn Falletta

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Virginia Symphony, Virginia Symphony Chorus