Harberg & Wolpert: Viola Concertos / Deubner, Lerner, Southern Arizona Symphony

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

These premiere recordings of viola concertos written especially for Brett Deubner are by two leading American composers whose appealing styles are full of engaging melodies and vital rhythms. Amanda Harberg's Concerto for Viola and Orchestra meditates upon soaring flight and the fragility of life, concluding with joyful energy and syncopation. Her Elegy commemorates a beloved music teacher. Inspired by tales from around the world, Max Wolpert's work draws on ancient traditions of music and storytelling. His Viola Concerto No. 1 ''Giants'' gazes at the lost magic of a distant past, calling up singing harps, dancing storm clouds, and a fiendishly ticking clock inexorably counting down to the end of the world.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8559840

  • UPC: 636943984024

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Amanda Harberg, Max Wolpert

  • Conductor: Linus Lerner

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Southern Arizona Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Brett Deubner