Haydn: The Complete Piano Sonatas, Vol. 11 / Bavouzet

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

"Bavouzet’s Haydn is unmatched in its zest and its wit. But it is also substantial, informed and deeply rewarding."

--The New York Times on Bavouzet's Haydn Sonatas cycle, 2022

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet’s survey of Haydn’s piano sonatas reaches its conclusion with this 11th and final volume. As with the previous releases, the acclaimed pianist has included repertoire from different periods of Haydn’s career to create a recital of interest in its own right, as well as the completion of the series.

Jean-Efflam notes: ‘It has been eleven years since the launch of this project to present Haydn’s sonatas, not in their chronological order, but as collections juxtaposing works from different periods. The program for this final album was actually the first one to be devised: I wanted to place side by side the very first and the very last sonata. Then the idea of fleshing out the sonata cycle with other major pieces began at volume four, with the addition of the famous Variations in F minor, and finally this last volume is made up of as many sonatas as other types of works. The complete series is thus able to offer music lovers all the sonatas identified to date, together with the other major keyboard works.’


Five stars & editor's choice | Just when I thought it couldn’t get any better, this last volume hits new heights. --Gramophone (Michelle Assay)
This album concludes Jean-Efflam Bavouzet’s epic and scintillating cycle of the complete Haydn Piano Sonatas. Sandwiched between the first and last sonatas – the former delightfully without a hint of angst, the latter richly expressive and exploratory – lies a wealth of contrasts…As on previous occasions [Bavouzet] makes it difficult to imagine Haydn presented with greater gusto, precision and charms[.] --International Piano (Bryce Morrison)

A project that began in 2011 is completed; what a journey it has been. Bavouzet’s gifts of insightful exposition and revelation are matched by the wisdom of his curation… A triumph. --The Sunday Times (Dan Cairns)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 05, 2022

  • Catalog Number: CHAN 20193

  • UPC: 0095115219324

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Classical

  • Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn

  • Performer: Jean-Efflam Bavouzet