Hindemith, Nielsen, Pärt & Tomasi: Elements / Belfiato Quintet

Regular price $23.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The pieces featured on the present album are staples of Belfiato Quintet’s modern repertoire and are, above all, music close to their heart. Each of them occupies a special position in the ensemble’s history. Carl Nielsen’s Wind Quintet is the very first work they explored and performed, while their rendition of Cinq danses profanes et sacrées at the 2011 Henri Tomasi International Woodwind Quintet Competition in Marseille earned the prize for the best interpretation of a Tomasi composition. And the other works included on the album have played significant roles in the ensemble’s career too. The five pieces, dating from between 1922 and 1964, represent their creators’ specific “elements”, as well as the diverse music traditions of their native countries. Yet the album’s title may also refer to five highly distinct figures who – perhaps precisely owing to their being so distinct – form a superbly harmonized ensemble that possesses a remarkable variety of tone quality and shades of expression. Belfiato Quintet are indisputably a world-class ensemble, with regard to the present album’s repertoire and beyond. Belfiato Quintet – five elements chiming in perfect harmony.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 25, 2022

  • Catalog Number: SU4310-2

  • UPC: 099925431020

  • Label: Supraphon

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Belfiato Quintet