Ispiciwin: Music of Canadian Composers / Luminous Voices

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Introducing "ISPICIWIN," the new album by Luminous Voices. The title track captures a collaboration spanning months and years, representing both a personal and collective journey. Andrew's compositions, infused with Cree text, evoke a range of emotions – yearning, hope, fear, and spiritual longing. The album features remarkable artists: Jessica McMann on bass flute and Walter MacDonald White Bear on Native American courting flute and guitar.

Alongside Antognini's "I am the Rose of Sharon," it includes works by Canadian composers from Turtle Island. Luminous Voices' exceptional performances and commissioned premieres enrich the collection. Andrew Balfour is an innovative composer/conductor/singer / sound designer with a large body of choral, instrumental, electro-acoustic, and orchestral works. Jessica McMann, member of Cowessess First Nation in Saskatchewan, is an Alberta-based, multidisciplinary Cree artist. She interweaves land, Indigenous identity, history, and language throughout her dance and music creation/performance practice.

Walter MacDonald White Bear’s music reflects his personal journey as a First Nations person in Canada. Luminous Voices, known for illuminating choral music, continues to captivate audiences through performances, recordings, and workshops. ISPICIWIN marks the fifth commercial recording for Luminous Voices and the third that the choir has released through Leaf Music. Join this odyssey where the music reflects an incredible array of talent from composers closely connected to Luminous Voices both in geography and in creative collaboration.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 06, 2023

  • UPC: 3191684102085

  • Catalog Number: LM267

  • Label: Leaf Music

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Ivo Antognini, Arthur Bachmann, Andrew Balfour, Walter MacDonald White Bear, Stuart Beatch, Carmen Braden, Laura Hawley, Sherryl Sewepagaham, Zachary Wadsworth

  • Conductor: Timothy Shantz

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Luminous Voices