Leighton: Cello Concerto, Symphony No 3 / Wallfisch, Et Al

Regular price $11.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Concerto is a strong and compelling work. . . . The Scherzo is a brilliant affair and the slow movement is placed last, poetic and passionate, resolving some of the cogently argued conflicts of the first movement. Wallfisch's playing is first-rate throughout. . . . [The Third Symphony] is more of an orchestral song cycle than a symphony, although there is certainly a symphonic breadth and logic in the music. . . . The central setting of Elizabeth Barrett Browning's poem about Pan discovering how to make music from a reed is a brilliant achievement, with Neil Mackie an excellent soloist. . . . If you don't know [Leighton's] music, make a start with this disc. It is strongly recommended. -- Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: CHAN 10307 X

  • UPC: 095115130728

  • Label: Chandos

  • Composer: Kenneth Leighton

  • Conductor: Bryden Thomson

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Royal Scottish National Orchestra

  • Performer: Neil Mackie, Raphael Wallfisch