Lyapunov: Piano Music / Glebov

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Although his superb piano-writing combines contrapuntal dexterity and a rich vein of lyricism, much of Sergei Lyapunov’s output for piano has been neglected. This chronological survey, covering three decades of Lyapunov’s composing life, contains a number of first recordings.


This is a highly successful recital which makes one hope for further volumes. The Op 1 pieces, the Scherzo, and the Sonatina are receiving their first recordings. The engineering is unfussy. Given the nature of the music there is no need for the widest or most dramatic of sound-stages. That being said the engineers have captured Glebov’s Steinway D piano with excellent natural presence. As mentioned, excellent liner-notes give real insight into both the life and music of this still too-little known composer. A wholly enjoyable disc.

-- MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 19, 2013

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0218

  • UPC: 5060113442185

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic, 20th Century

  • Composer: Sergei Lyapunov

  • Performer: Margarita Glebov