Lysight & Piazzolla: Seas8ns / Astoria

Regular price $14.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Between 1965 and 1970, Astor Piazzolla composed the 'Four Porteño Seasons' or 'Four Seasons of Buenos Aires', for his New Tango Quintet. It is an evocation of the different atmospheres of the Argentinian capital depending on the different seasons. The atmosphere of each piece is never utterly joyful or completely sad, which is also one of the characteristics of tango music: tragedy and joy go hand in hand and intertwine. Four Seasons (2016) for accordion, violin, cello, double bass, percussion and piano was composed at the request of accordionist Christophe Delporte for the Astoria Ensemble, to which it is dedicated. The titles of the four movements that make up this work are deliberately enigmatic, but each refer to a particular season. It's for the audience to guess which and why.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 10, 2023

  • Catalog Number: AR 042

  • UPC: 0608917734225

  • Label: Antarctica

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Michel Lysight, Astor Piazzolla

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Astoria