Mahler, Strauss, & Wagner: Liebestod / Hruša, Bamberg Symphony

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The music of Wagner, Mahler and Strauss is very close to the heart of the Bamberg Symphony and even seems to have ingrained itself in their DNA, to which the award-winning recordings of Mahler 4 with Jakub Hruša and Mahler 9 with Herbert Blomstedt impressively attest. With this concept album, they reflect on the topic of death, which Jakub Hruša does not interpret solely as a moment full of despair and tragedy. Rather, he sees in death an element "that gives our lives meaning." And it is this idea that the orchestra and its principal conductor convey with their interpretation of four key works by Richard Wagner, Gustav Mahler and Richard Strauss. The result creates a form of dialog between the composers, who build on each other historically and stylistically. A dialog that, says Hruša, "charms our ears and touches our hearts."

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 24, 2023

  • Catalog Number: ACC30599

  • UPC: 4260234832983

  • Label: Accentus

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Late Romantic

  • Composer: Gustav Mahler, Richard Strauss, Richard Wagner

  • Conductor: Jakub Hrusa

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bamberger Symphoniker