Malipiero, Ghedini, Casella: Music for Cellos and Orchestra / Shugaev, Uryupin, D. Prokofiev, Rostov Academic Symphony Orchestra

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The composers of these 20th-century Italian works were all associated with the cello from a young age. Their deep understanding of the instrument reveals itself in three contrasting concertante pieces where soloist and orchestra collaborate to explore a wide range of colors and moods, and whose slow movements are among the most beautiful each composer ever wrote. Malipiero viewed the soloist in his concertos as a voice rising in a crowd; the mysterious and autumnal L’Olmeneta is the largest and most individual of Ghedini’s cello works; and Casella’s Notturno e tarantella is a sunny piece, expertly orchestrated.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 08, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 8574393

  • UPC: 747313439379

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Conductor: Valentin Uryupin

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Rostov Academic Symphony Orchestra