Martin: Requiem - Janácek: Otce náš / Segerstam, Vienna Youth Choir, ORF Vienna Radio Choir, ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
It took Frank Martin a long time to heed his deep-seated inner calling to write a Requiem: 'What I have tried to express here is the clear will to accept death; to make peace with it.' The Requiem was composed in 1971/72, Martin utilizes the whole bandwidth of orchestral sound and explores all opportunities for interplay among the vocalists, as well. Leoš Janácek’s setting of the Otcenáš, the Lord’s Prayer, is not a conventionally religious work. The Czech composer was more interested in its social aspects than any theological musings. Conductor Leif Segerstam, Chief conductor of ORF Vienna radio Symphony Orchestra from 1975-1983 loved to surprise his public with non-mainstream repertoire. Two of these live recordings are now restored, re-mastered and first time published for the future.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 04, 2022

  • Catalog Number: C5454

  • UPC: 845221054544

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Frank Martin

  • Conductor: Leif Segerstam

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra