Mendelssohn in Birmingham, Vol. 4 / Pike, Gardner, City of Birmingham Symphony

Regular price $23.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
For this new recording of orchestral works by Mendelssohn, the CBSO and its principal guest conductor, Edward Gardner, join the violinist Jennifer Pike, who made a remarkable debut at Carnegie Hall this year. She here performs the Violin Concerto in E minor, the piece that launched her career thirteen years ago when she became the youngest-ever winner of the BBC Young Musician of the Year Award. This recording contains another of Mendelssohn's later works: the Incidental Music for A Midsummer Night’s Dream (1843), in which he managed to recapture and amplify the unique magic of his early years.


Pike allies the luminous beauty of her tone to her innate musicality and mercurial technique to produce an exceptionally lyrical interpretation of the evergreen Violin Concerto in E minor.

– Guardian (UK)

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: CHSA 5161

  • UPC: 095115516126

  • Label: Chandos

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn

  • Conductor: Edward Gardner

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Jennifer Pike