Mendelssohn: Works for Violin & Piano / Huangci, Bouchkov, Griffiths, Basel Chamber Orchestra

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

“Mendelssohn is a challenge, because his music appears to be so deceptively easy,” says the pianist Claire Huangci, speaking about her new album. Together with violinist Marc Bouchkov she has recorded works by Mendelssohn for violin and piano: the two Violin Sonatas in F – one major, one minor – and the Double Concerto in D minor. They are accompanied in the latter work by the successful conductor Howard Griffiths and the Basel Chamber Orchestra. As Ms Huangci points out, this represents a program rich in contrasts highlighting Mendelssohn’s artistry and the versatility of such a combination of works: “A mix requiring wit and brilliance on the one hand, while also requiring the performers to go beneath the surface and reveal a deeper meaning including sorrow, compassion and nobility, and that is something that is not easy to detect at first glance. The young Felix Mendelssohn has such a feel for the dramatic.”


This is the first recording I’ve heard by Marc Bouchkov, a violinist born in Montpellier in 1991. He won 1st Prize at the Queen Elizabeth Competition at Brussels and 2nd Prize at the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. He is an excellent violinist with a fiery temperament and a highly polished technique. Claire Huangci studied at the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia with Eleanor Sokoloff and Gary Graffman and with Arie Vardi in Hanover. She is a perfect match for Bouchkov, and the two make this music exciting.

-- American Record Guide

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 04, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 0302045BC

  • UPC: 885470020457

  • Label: Berlin Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Feliz Mendelssohn

  • Conductor: Howard Griffiths

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Basel Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Marc Bouchkov, Claire Huangci