Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 22, K482 & No.23, K488, Vol. 6 / Bavouzet, Takács-Nagy, Manchester Camerata

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Described by BBC Music Magazine as ‘Mozart music-making of altogether superior quality’, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet’s acclaimed Mozart Concertos series reaches Vol. 6. Along with Concerto No. 24, K. 491, the two concertos presented here were composed in Vienna in the winter of 1785 – 86, at a time when Mozart was working on Le nozze di Figaro. He was at the height of his fame as composer, virtuoso pianist, and teacher. These three concertos were all written for his own use in the concerts of that winter, and remained unpublished during his lifetime. Der Schauspieldirektor (The Impresario) was commissioned by Emperor Joseph II for an important state visit and performed at Schönbrunn palace on 7 February 1786. The Overture highlights Mozart’s innate ability as an orchestrator, and serves as a demonstration piece for Gábor Takács-Nagy and the wonderful musicians of Manchester Camerata.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 15, 2022

  • Catalog Number: CHAN 20166

  • UPC: 095115216620

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Gábor Takács-Nagy

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Manchester Camerata

  • Performer: Jean-Efflam Bavouzet