Mozart: Piano Concertos No 21 & 27 / Lars Vogt

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

MOZART Piano Concertos: Nos. 21 and 27 Lars Vogt (pn); Paavo Järvi, cond; Frankfurt RSO AVI 8553257 (57:52)

In this recording a talented, prolific pianist performs with a celebrated conductor in two Mozart masterpieces. It shouldn’t go wrong, and it doesn’t. There is grace here, sensitivity, and a welcome liveliness. At times Vogt in his solo passages seems to retreat a bit too much, in dynamics and touch. I suppose that from time to time I prefer a crisper touch and more directed succession of phrases to the occasional sighs and whispers. I still swoon before Schnabel’s Mozart recordings. But even here I am afraid of exaggerating. Vogt and Jarvi have produced beautiful, coherent, unaffected recordings of two masterpieces. If I like a little more tension, others will prefer this kind of delicate and nuanced approach.

FANFARE: Michael Ullman

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 11, 2013

  • Catalog Number: AVI 8553296

  • UPC: 4260085532964

  • Label: Cavi

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Paavo Järvi

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Lars Vogt