Mozart: Violin Sonatas / Dego, Leonardi

Regular price $22.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Following her critically acclaimed recording of Mozart Concertos with Sir Roger Norrington and the RSNO, Francesca Dego turns to a selection of his Sonatas with her long-term recital partner Francesca Leonardi. Dego commented ‘Francesca and I have been playing together for seventeen years, more than half my life and the totality of my career. To work as a duo on a regular basis means reaching common interpretative solutions, ones that sum up each player’s qualities, and creates a great sense of mutual responsibility. What you do together somehow feels naturally complete. We decided to build this album around our very favorite Sonata, KV 454 in B flat major, which we had been performing for many years and in which Mozart’s simplicity and flamboyance coexist in perfect harmony.’


“… the balance between Dego and Leonardi is impeccable, along with the sense of two musicians singing from the same hymn sheet…If you’re looking for unfailingly tasteful and refined playing, then Dego and Leonardi neatly tick that box…”

– Gramophone (Charlotte Gardner)

“…The approach is modern-instrument with period awareness, the youthful playfulness of much of this music well caught…Dego and Leonardi’s polished and deeply considered performances of all four sonatas provide 70 minutes of unvarnished pleasure.”
– The Strad (David Threasher)

“…There is an infectious delight in give-and-take between piano and violin throughout …an exquisite recital.”
– BBC Music magazine (Julian Haylock)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 04, 2022

  • Catalog Number: CHAN 20232

  • UPC: 095115223222

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Classical

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Performer: Francesca Dego