Nielsen: Flute Concerto; Symphony No. 3 / Walker, Gardner, Bergen Philharmonic

Regular price $23.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

For this second instalment in their Nielsen cycle, Edward Gardner and the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra are joined by the flautist Adam Walker for a programme that combines the Flute Concerto, the Third Symphony, and the tone poem Pan and Syrinx. Nielsen began work on the Third Symphony in 1910, some seven years after he had completed his second symphony ‘The Four Temperaments’, and the work was premièred in Copenhagen in 1912. In his album note, Paul Griffiths describes the work’s eventual title, ‘Sinfonia espansiva’ as a fifth temperament – Joviality. In the second movement, uniquely in his symphonic output, Nielsen calls for (wordless) voices – solo soprano and baritone. It was also the first of his symphonies to be commercially released on record – Erik Tuxen conducting the Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra. Composed in 1926, the Flute Concerto is a late work, and demonstrates Nielsen’s stylistic evolution towards the new modernism. The soloist engages in repeated interactions with other instruments within the orchestra, most notably the clarinet and the bass trombone. Pan and Syrinx dates from 1918, and is based on the ancient legend which tells how the amorous god Pan invented the pan flute whilst pursuing the nymph Syrinx.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 05, 2024

  • Catalog Number: CHSA 5312

  • UPC: 095115531228

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Carl Nielsen

  • Conductor: Edward Gardner

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Adam Walker