Nielsen, Sibelius: Violin Concertos / Skride, Rouvali, Tampere Philharmonic

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Born into a musical Latvian family violinist Baiba Skride won First Prize at the 2010 Queen Elisabeth Competition, held annually in Belgium. Ms. Skride’s natural approach to her music making has endeared her to some of today’s most important conductors and orchestras. Following her debut at the BBC Proms with the Oslo Philharmonic and Vasily Petrenko playing the Szymanowski Concerto No. 1, The Times noted, ‘Latvian violinist Baiba Skride sailed over the orchestra with long lines of melody, silver and sweet.’ She was immediately re-invited, and at the 2014 Proms played the Stravinsky Concerto with the BBC Symphony and Ed Gardner. Baiba Skride debut recording with Orfeo of the Szymanowski Concertos and Myths was nominated for the 2015 BBC Music Magazine Awards in the Concerto section. For her Orfeo CD follow up she has recorded two Scandinavian violin concertos truly exciting, fresh and innovative – Jean Sibelius’s well-loved concerto and Carl Nielsen’s unjustly neglected companion work – with the Tampere Philharmonic and conductor Santtu-Matias Rouvali.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: ORF-C896152A

  • UPC: 4011790896229

  • Label: Orfeo

  • Composer: Carl Nielsen, Jean Sibelius

  • Conductor: Santtu-Matias Rouvali

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Baiba Skride