Path to the Moon / van der Heijden, Coleman

Regular price $22.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The performers write: ‘Selecting the repertoire for our album Path to the Moon, we wanted to explore a number of possibilities for binding together a programme. To place different works alongside one another is a wonderful way of bringing out new and unusual qualities in each piece. William T. Horton’s fantastic image The Path to the Moon immediately inspired a flurry of ideas, including works on the subjects of both night and the moon, as well as pieces which invoke the exploratory nature of humankind’s voyage to the moon. Britten wrote his Sonata for Cello and Piano only two years after the first object made by humans had touched the surface of the moon, in 1959. Humans throughout history and from all cultures have been drawn to and taken inspiration from the moon and we have tried to reflect this in our eclectic choice of song repertoire: from Toru Takemitsu to Nina Simone and from Lili Boulanger to Florence Price. As we hope you will hear on this album, Walker’s Cello Sonata rings with echoes of the sound-worlds of blues and jazz and is infused with a beautiful lyricism. We really believe that Walker’s Cello Sonata deserves to become a staple of the chamber music repertoire and are absolutely thrilled to offer you a recording of it in the context of our own exploration of a path to the moon.’

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 16, 2024

  • Catalog Number: CHAN 20274

  • UPC: 095115227428

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Lili Boulanger, Benjamin Britten, Claude Debussy, Gabriel Faure, Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Florence Price, Nina Simone, Toru Takemitsu, George Walker

  • Performer: Laura van der Heijden, Jams Coleman