Sherwood: Complete Works For Cello And Piano / Spooner, Norris

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Anglo-German composer Sherwood (b.1866) has slipped through the cracks of history—his impressive output of orchestral, chamber, choral and instrumental music is only now beginning to be discovered. Once an important figure in his native Dresden, in WWI he faded from view and by the time of his death in London (1939) his music was as good as forgotten.


Percy Sherwood (1866–1939)—who is he? Well, Toccata is starting a Sherwood collection, and the liner notes give us much detail complete with some fine illustrations and footnotes. Sherwood was English but was born and grew up in Germany, moving to London during WW II. He was well thought of in both countries.

This program of his cello music reveals a romantic composer of verve and originality, lively to listen to and by no means boring. Spooner and Norris play him with passion and accuracy. There are two fine sonatas from 1891 and 1900 and three pieces, Op. 14 of considerable originality. The early set of Little Pieces is less unusual, but quite lovely. This is a composer worth following up, certainly when played as well as he is here.

-- American Record Guide

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 30, 2012

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0145

  • UPC: 5060113441454

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Percy Sherwood

  • Performer: Joseph Spooner, David Owen Norris