Pesciolini: Secondo libro di musica sacra / Tuscae Voces, La Pifarescha

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This recording – culmination of a research work that started out in 2020 – follows the previously released album including the third book of madrigals by the same author (Tactus, TC531601, 2021), which was the result of the collaboration between conductor Elia Orlando, ensemble Tuscae Voces and the Tactus record label. It is safe to say that the outcome confirms how the musical landscape in the Renaissance Prato deserves way more attention than it has drawn so far, and that Biagio Pesciolini – besides being closely connected to the Florentine court – was an author whose vision went beyond the city walls of Prato. Although praised by peers Ludovico Zacconi and Antonio Brunelli for his mastery of those techniques that belong to Flemish-origin ars musica, he skilfully took on both “orthogonal” writing for double choir and winding compositions for five and six voices, which proves that Biagio Pesciolini was indeed open and receptive to the different tendencies of Italy’s most important musical centres.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 01, 2024

  • Catalog Number: TC531602

  • UPC: 8007194108125

  • Label: Tactus

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Biagio Pesciolini

  • Conductor: Elia Orlando

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Tuscae Voces, La Pifarescha