Petrassi: Piano Concerto, Flute Concerto, La Follia di Orlando / La Vecchia, Rome

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Petrassi’s long creative life was marked by ceaseless absorption of ideas and by constant invention. His Flute Concerto is notable for its boldness of design and the surprise of its unorthodox sound world, where instruments rotate in block form. The Piano Concerto is more overtly virtuosic, even showing some influence from Prokofiev. The orchestral suite drawn from the ballet La follia di Orlando (The Madness of Orlando) is often clothed in Petrassi’s experimental orchestral sonorities. ‘The rehabilitation of Italian twentieth-century music by the Naxos label continues unabated: the latest release is this remarkable collection…that any genuine Petrassian will rush to purchase’. (International Record Review on 8.572411)

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8573073

  • UPC: 747313307371

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Goffredo Petrassi

  • Conductor: Francesco La Vecchia

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Rome Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Bruno Canino, Mario Ancillotti