Haydn: The Complete Piano Sonatas, Vol. 9 / Bavouzet

Regular price $22.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
"Bavouzet’s Haydn is unmatched in its zest and its wit. But it is also substantial, informed and deeply rewarding."--The New York Times on Bavouzet's Haydn...

"Bavouzet’s Haydn is unmatched in its zest and its wit. But it is also substantial, informed and deeply rewarding."

--The New York Times on Bavouzet's Haydn Sonatas cycle, 2022

Following his acclaimed recording of Beethoven’s concertos with the Swedish Chamber Orchestra, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet returns to his exploration of Haydn’s sonatas, described by the magazine Gramophone as ‘a major modern recording landmark in the Haydn discography’.

As in previous installments, Bavouzet has programmed sonatas from Haydn’s early, middle, and late periods, giving added interest to the recital. Sonatas Nos. 10 and 2, dating from the 1750s and ’60s respectively, share the key of C major, but differ in form. The short No. 2 was almost certainly written for pupils whilst Haydn was working as a teacher. No. 10 is more ambitious and extensive. Sonatas Nos. 41 and 44 date from the early 1770s and show some influence from C.P.E. Bach and the Sturm und Drang [Storm and Stress] movement. More virtuosic than the earlier sonatas, in these the trademark humor of Haydn is also more evident. Sonatas Nos. 52 and 53 were composed a decade later and are conspicuously more demanding, technically and musically. As in the case of the previous volumes, this album was recorded at Potton Hall in Suffolk, on a Yamaha CFX Concert Grand Piano.


I am tempted to set my morning alarm to go off with Bavouzet’s Haydn C major Sonata; it’s guaranteed to fill the room with sunshine and youthful energy...all in all this is another remarkable addition to Bavouzet’s invaluable survey.

--Gramophone (Michelle Assay)

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet’s ongoing [Haydn] survey on Chandos is one of the glories of the 21st-century record industry, nine volumes and counting of playing that is poised and polished, as well as ideally flamboyant and aptly witty.

--New York Times (David Allen)

As ever in his Haydn cycle, Bavouzet provides a stimulating mix. Listen in turn to a cheerily scampering Sonata 10; a grand, poetic, dazzling personality in Sonata 44; a Sonata 2 in turns imposing and with a rounded melodiousness. All that is before Sonata 52’s sureness of melody, immensely varied rhythmically and in mood, and Sonata 53’s cagey then engaging hurtle.

--MusicWeb International (Michael Greenhalgh)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 05, 2021

  • UPC: 095115213124

  • Catalog Number: CHAN 20131

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Classical

  • Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn

  • Performer: Jean-Efflam Bavouzet