Rachmaninoff: All-Night Vigil / Antonenko, PaTRAM Institute Male Choir

Regular price $23.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

In celebration of the 150th anniversary of the birth of Serge Rachmaninoff, PaTRAM* Institute Male Choir invites you to experience the extraordinary beauty of his choral tour de force, the All-night Vigil, composed in 1915.

The Vigil is a traditional Russian Orthodox evening worship service. Combining the offices of Vespers and Matins, it is celebrated on evenings in advance of Sundays and major feast days. Rachmaninoff’s setting of fifteen fixed texts appointed for Saturday evening services relies principally on traditional chant melodies. The ‘Rachmaninoff in the Holy Land’ project brought together experienced choristers from around the globe to unite as PaTRAM Institute Male Choir.

The album was recorded in the Russian Orthodox Convent Monastery Church of the Ascension, set amidst an olive grove atop the Mount of Olives, in Jerusalem. Inspired by Alexander Gretchaninoff’s arrangement of ‘Glory to God in the Highest’ (hymn 7), the Choir turned to adaptations by Dmitrii Lazarev and Benedict Sheehan for male voice choir of the remaining hymns. Lowering the key of many of the pieces (to fit better with male voices) allowed the eight bass octavists featured on the recording to give an exceptional depth to the Choir’s sound.

*Patriarch Tikhon Russian-American Music Institute

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 22, 2024

  • Catalog Number: CHSA 5349

  • UPC: 095115534922

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Serge Rachmaninoff

  • Conductor: Ekaterina Antonenko

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: PaTRAM Institute Male Choir

  • Performer: Igor Morozov, Evgeny Kachurovsky, Alexis V. Lukianov


  1. All-Night Vigil

    Composer: Sergei Rachmaninoff

    Ensemble: PaTRAM Institute Male Choir

    Performer: Igor Morozov (Tenor), Evgeny Kachurovsky (Baritone), Alexis V. Lukiano (Bass)

    Conductor: Ekaterina Antonenko