Robert Moran: Trinity Requiem

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Moran was commissioned by Trinity Wall Street (the 'Ground Zero' church) to write a Requiem for their youth chorus to commemorate the 10th anniversary of September 11, 2001. The result is a heartfelt and heavenly work for angelic voices with organ, harps and cellos. It's simplicity and direct appeal rival that of Faure himself and it is sure to become a standard repertory work. While many of the singers were barely born at the time of the attacks in New York, the composer found inspiration in the all-too common grief found in war zones around the world (such as Kosovo and London) when children suddenly lose their families to violence. Listeners will note the synchronicity recorded on tape during the Offertory; a siren passed by during the best vocal take and could not be edited out. It becomes a touching reminder of the context of this work and the personal authenticity of these fine musicians.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 06, 2011

  • UPC: 726708624422

  • Catalog Number: INN244

  • Label: Innova

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Philip Blackburn, Robert Moran

  • Conductor: Robert Ridgell, Robert Westenberg

  • Performer: Alexander Hermann, Alexis Odell, Aminda Asher, Jennifer Hoult, Melissa Walsh, Miho Zaitsu, Sarah Wolfe, Veronica Parrales