Ruehr: Icarus & Other Music / Berman, Manasse, Arneis Quartet, Delgani String Quartet, Borromeo String Quartet

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Composer Elena Ruehr adds to her extensive discography with Icarus, an album of chamber music infused with hints of history, legendary literature and close collaborations with a multitude of musical colleagues. The repertoire revolves around the string quartet, a genre that generated great acclaim for Elena’s Six String Quartets (AV2379). Elena’s String Quartet No. 7, “A Thousand Cranes”, evokes experiences and resilience of children in wartime, including the internment of Japanese in American camps, and her own father’s escape from Nazi Germany. Her playful String Quartet No. 8, “Insect Dances” – “written for listeners of all ages” – finds a diverse family of bugs engaged in an impish dinner party. Inspired by T. S. Eliot, The Worlds Revolve, for piano and string quartet, conjures elements both ancient and prescient. The title track, for clarinet and string quartet, centres on the Greek mythological character’s excitement as he builds his wings of wax and dares to fly, rather than his dark demise as he flies too close to the sun.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: AV2502

  • UPC: 822252250220

  • Label: AVIE

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 21st Century

  • Composer: Elena Ruehr