1. Sächsische Weihnacht / Ludwig Güttler

Sächsische Weihnacht / Ludwig Güttler

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
For his new album, Ludwig Güttler has put together what he considers the most beautiful and contemplative Christmas songs. The great trumpet player reminisces about Christmas in his homeland, the Ore Mountains in Saxony, Germany. "Christmas in the Ore Mountains is something very special. Due to the mining tradition, it is a celebration of light. If you imagine how a miner, centuries ago, got up early in the morning when it was still dark and attended the morning service, then went down the shaft and came home from work when it was already dark, then, like this worker, you develop a longing for the light. Today it is hard to understand, when we illuminate everything around us with electric light – and too often we overshoot the mark, if we think of the global problem of light pollution. I associate the Christmas of my childhood with a reality shining through with light and thoughts like: What do I give to whom? And even more: what do I get? When I was five, my grandmother gave me an accordion. A treasure, packed in a simple cardboard box. In terms of my being and continuing to practice on the instrument, its contents were the most lasting gift I ever received." Sächsische Weihnacht ("Saxon Christmas") contains 36 tracks and two encores, carefully collected from Güttler's concert program of recent years. It is all previously unreleased material by the great trumpeter, recorded together with his brass ensemble in various churches in Saxony, including the Frauenkirche in Dresden, the Marienkirche in Pirna and the church in Polditz.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 06, 2021

  • Catalog Number: 0301639BC

  • UPC: 885470016399

  • Label: Berlin Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Blechbläserensemble

  • Performer: Ludwig Güttler