Sacred Songs of Life & Love / Schmidt, South Dakota Chorale

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Recorded in January 2014 in the grand acoustical environment of St. Joseph Cathedral in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, by Grammy Award-winning producer Blanton Alspaugh of Soundmirror, this recording once again testifies the stature of South Dakota Chorale as a first-rate ensemble that delivers no less than sublime choral performances.

Sacred Songs of Life and Love features some of the most beautiful works in contemporary Scandinavian and Baltic choral music, including Arvo Pärt’s Sieben Magnificat Antiphonen, selections from Kunt Nystedt’s Prayers of Kierkegaard, Sven-David Sandström’s Four Songs of Love and Algirdas Martinaitis’ Alleluia.


The South Dakota Chorale are more than well suited to this full-bodied repertoire. They address the common lyricism of the music through a warmth of sound and sonority that is not only notably varied in tone and color but which is all but perfect in blend, ensemble and intonation.

– Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 10, 2015

  • Catalog Number: PTC5186530

  • UPC: 827949053061

  • Label: Pentatone

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Algirdas Martinaitis, Arvo Pärt, Eriks Esenvalds, Ivo Antognini, Knut Nystedt, Sven-David Sandström

  • Conductor: Brian Schmidt

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: South Dakota Chorale