Salonen & Saariaho: Works for Solo Cello / Smith

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This solo album by cellist Wilhelmina Smith features works for solo cello by Esa-Pekka Salonen and Kaija Saariaho. Both composers belong to a generation of modernist Finnish composers whose work has gained broad acceptance in musical culture throughout the world. While each composer has a clear individual artistic persona, as a group they are known for pushing sonic boundaries. In writing for strings and, in particular on this recording, the cello, Salonen and Saariaho exploit the outer reaches of the technical possibilities for both the instrument and the performer. Wilhelmina Smith is an artist of intense commitment, poetic insight and dazzling versatility. As a soloist and recitalist as well as a collaborative musician and festival director, Smith has consistently advocated for composers with whom she has developed vital relationships, to have their music creatively positioned within an intellectually engaging context and performed with the utmost passion and technical assurance.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 08, 2019

  • Catalog Number: ODE 1294-2

  • UPC: 761195129425

  • Label: Ondine

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Esa-Pekka Salonen, Kaija Saariaho

  • Performer: Wilhelmina Smith