Schmidt: The Piano Album / Kolly

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Franz Schmidt was not only a brilliant cellist, but also a gifted pianist who mastered almost the entire piano repertoire with ease. Nevertheless, he had a kind of love-hate relationship with the piano. His great love was the organ. However, this did not prevent him from writing numerous works for the left hand (Beethoven Variations, Piano Concerto in E-flat major, Quintets). All of these were commissioned by the one-armed pianist Paul Wittgenstein. For two-handed piano, on the other hand, Schmidt left behind only one composition. It is the melancholic Romance, which he dedicated to his English teacher Geoffrey Sephton in 1922. Karl-Andreas Kolly: 'The fact that I have nevertheless decided to set three of Franz Schmidt’s organ works for piano has primarily to do with my great passion for his music. And also a little with my hope that in a piano version, his organ works could possibly reach an additional audience.'

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 16, 2024

  • Catalog Number: C5526

  • UPC: 845221055268

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Franz Schmidt

  • Performer: Karl-Andreas Kolly