Schreker: Der Schatzgräber (Reissue) / Faveyts, Uhl, Albrecht, Netherlands PO

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Schreker is well known for his operas and wrote the libretto and composed his opera "Der Schatzgräber" after the great success of "Der ferne Klang" (1912) and "Die Gezeichneten" (1918). "Der Schatzgräber", questioning the value of materialism versus love, was to prove particularly powerful in post-War Europe. Musicweb International raves: “... this is one of those operas and recordings which ‘has it all’, from the drama and sublime beauty of the music to the glorious performance and sumptuous recording. If you are a fan of opera on record from any period this is a treat, but if you love your music-dramas exciting, moving and Romantic with a big-boned ‘R’ then this is one you will want to keep close to your media player for a long time to come.”

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 21, 2022

  • UPC: 0608917292725

  • Catalog Number: CC 72927

  • Label: Challenge

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Late Romantic

  • Composer: Franz Schreker

  • Conductor: Marc Albrecht

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Tijl Faveyts, Manuela Uhl