Serenade / Hampson, Pikulski

Regular price $23.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

With Serenade, Thomas Hampson's first album exclusively dedicated to French song, Mr. Hampson brings his passion for works by French opera composers to the PENTATONE label. Curated with the French Literature scholar Sylvain Fort and in a first collaboration with the Polish pianist Maciej Pikulski, the track listing includes romantic and introspective as well as humorous selections by Bizet, Chabrier, Chausson, Gounod, Magnard, Massenet, and Saint-Saëns, featuring texts written by some of France's most revered writers including Victor Hugo, Paul Verlaine, Rosemonde Gerard, and others.


There are many byways through the well-stocked garden of French song for those who want to explore further afield. Thomas Hampson has put together an imaginative programme that places just a handful of well-known songs along its path, including Chabrier’s jolly parade of ducklings in “Villanelle des petits canards” and Chausson’s hothouse “Le temps des lilas."

-- Financial Times (U.K.)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 15, 2017

  • Catalog Number: PTC5186681

  • UPC: 827949068164

  • Label: Pentatone

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Albéric Magnard, Camille Saint-Saëns, Charles Gounod, Emmanuel Chabrier, Ernest Chausson, Georges Bizet, Giacomo Meyerbeer, Jules Massenet

  • Performer: Maciej Pikulski, Thomas Hampson