1. Shoehorn Shuffle - ArkivMusic

Shoehorn Shuffle / Cool Sweetness Sextet

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Cool Sweetness could be a nice cold and tasty cocktail…or maybe an irresistible ice cream… But actually, it is the name of Danish trombonist Anders Jacobsen’s jazz sextet. “Cool” because the main inspiration comes from the cool jazz as they played it on the American West Coast in the fifties. “Sweetness” because that is how the sextet members really are. Six nice, good-natured and humorous men who love to play good jazz. The music on their new album “Shoehorn Shuffle” is primarily composed and arranged by Jacobsen and the album features a strong line-up of the coolest players on the Danish jazz scene, including Thomas Fryland (trumpet), Jens Søndergaard (sax), Pelle von Bülow (guitar), Ole Skipper (bass) and Aage Tanggaard (drums).

‘The music on this fine recording is quite simply - just wonderful! The beauty and spirit of quality is always evident. The writing, execution, soli, and recorded sound are a joy to experience! The sense of swing and great groove puts a big smile on my face. many thanks to Anders for his terrific writing and assembling all these superb musicians!’ (Jiggs Whigham)


The group have all the right attributes, good sound, calm execution, and the correct solo power to place them alongside the iconic cool jazz players of yesteryear.

-- Jazzwise (UK)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 11, 2022

  • Catalog Number: SVL1014349

  • UPC: 717101434923

  • Label: Storyville Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Jazz

  • Composer: Jørgen Ryg, Phillip Braham, Leslie Bricusse, Bob Brookmeyer, Jimmy van Heusen, Anders Jacobsen, Anthony Newley, Frank Rosolino, Bobby Schmidt

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet


  1. Open Country

    Composer: Bob Brookmeyer

    Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet

  2. Nancy

    Composer: Jimmy van Heusen

    Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet

  3. Limehouse Blues

    Composer: Philip Braham

    Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet

  4. Wintersaga

    Composer: Anders Jacobsen

    Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet

  5. December Rain

    Composer: Anders Jacobsen

    Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet

  6. Blue Daniel

    Composer: Frank Rosolino

    Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet

  7. Shoehorn Shuffle

    Composer: Anders Jacobsen

    Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet

  8. Who Can I Turn To?

    Composer: Leslie Bricusse

    Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet

  9. Serenade T.D.P.J.I.H.M.

    Composer: Jørgen Ryg

    Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet

  10. Red Rubber Boat

    Composer: Anders Jacobsen, Bobby Schmidt

    Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet

  11. September Hymn

    Composer: Anders Jacobsen

    Ensemble: Cool Sweetness Sextet