Shostakovich: Violin Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 / Zimmerman, Gilbert, NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
These recordings stand out as formidable achievements. They match technical mastery at the highest level with profound insight. No less impressive is the compelling interaction between Zimmermann and the excellent NDR Elbphilharmonie under Alan Gilbert, a crucial component in music that is so symphonic in design.

– BBC Music Magazine

The First Concerto will raise eyebrows. It’s fast, and certainly makes you sit up and hear this concerto in a new light. Zimmerman pursues the Passacaglia’s cantabile line with lyrical ease but can also produce a darker, uglier sound when appropriate, spitting ferociously in the Scherzo and producing icy glissandos, and he does conjure up impish colour in the nose-thumbing Burlesque.

– Gramophone

Stunningly performed and recorded, Zimmermann’s inspiring release on BIS deserves substantial praise.

– MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: BIS-2247

  • UPC: 7318599922478

  • Label: BIS

  • Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich

  • Conductor: Alan Gilbert

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra, North German Radio Elbphilharmonie Orchestra

  • Performer: Frank Peter Zimmermann