Stöhr: Orchestral Music vol. 1, for String Orchestra / Kopacka, Hobson, Sinfonia Varsovia

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
These two works for string orchestra were composed on either side of the flight of the Viennese composer Richard Stöhr (1874–1967) from occupied Austria to the USA, and from prominence and danger to liberty and obscurity, and they reflect the change in his circumstances: the Concerto in the Old Style is expansive, witty, energetic and endlessly good-natured, whereas the Second Suite is introspective, understated and deeply felt. These first recordings allow the discovery of two major additions to the repertoire for strings; the Second Suite is also one of the last grand statements of late Romanticism.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 06, 2022

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0468

  • UPC: 5060113444684

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Richard Stöhr

  • Conductor: Ian Hobson

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Sinfonia Varsovia

  • Performer: Agnieszka Kopacka