Stojowski: Symphony, Op. 21; Suite For Orchestra, Op. 9 / Wit, Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
You might consider him one of the many Missing Links between Frédéric Chopin and Karol Szymanowski, who shaped Polish music between the second half of the 19th century and the dawn of modernism… but somehow never entered the repertoire. We are dealing with a composer of the high, late-romantic tradition – a style that Stojowski never found any reason to reject and with a strong gift for melody. His work proves the composer’s deft hand at colorful instrumentation, which suggests Russian and French influences. Entering the U.S. in 1905, he enjoyed a fine reputation as a composer, pianist, and increasingly pedagogue but his lack of presence on the continent meant that Stojowski faded into obscurity.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: C5464

  • UPC: 845221054643

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Sigismond Stojowski

  • Conductor: Antoni Wit

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz