R. Strauss: Sinnbild - Orchestral Songs / H.-E. Müller, Eschenbach, WDR Symphony Orchestra

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

On her second PENTATONE album Sinnbild, soprano Hanna-Elisabeth Müller presents an enchanting collection of orchestral songs by Richard Strauss, together with the WDR Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Christoph Eschenbach. Culminating in the famous Four Last Songs, the program explores all forms of farewell – the big and the small – that we go through as human beings. Amidst this melancholia, Strauss’s lush, glorious orchestral writing and his exceptional understanding of the soprano voice offer profound solace to the listener.

Hanna-Elisabeth Müller is among the most celebrated lyrical sopranos of our times. Sinnbild is the second album as part of her exclusive collaboration with PENTATONE. The WDR Symphony Orchestra has released several albums with the label, including Beethoven’s complete symphonies (2020) and Hindemith orchestral works (2018), both with Marek Janowski, as well as the Strauss album Aber der richtige… (2018) with Arabella Steinbacher and Lawrence Foster. Christoph Eschenbach is universally acclaimed as conductor and pianist, and makes his PENTATONE debut.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 17, 2022

  • Catalog Number: PTC5186806

  • UPC: 827949080661

  • Label: Pentatone

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Late Romantic

  • Composer: Richard Strauss

  • Conductor: Christoph Eschenbach

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: WDR Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Hanna-Elisabeth Müller