Tailleferre: Complete Piano Works, Vol. 1 / Horvath

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Germaine Tailleferre is best known for being a member of the French circle of composers known as Les Six - the only woman in the group. Her stylish combination of neo-Classicism with a ready wit and energy can be compared to Poulenc and Milhaud. From the captivating Romance written while still a student, to her sparkling music for the 1937 Paris international exhibition, all of these pieces show Tailleferre as being very much at the heart of the contemporary French musical scene. This recording, described by the composer’s granddaughter as being ‘as though Tailleferre herself was performing these works’, is the first of three volumes presenting the complete piano music played by Nicolas Horvath.


The Monaco-born Horvath’s discographical versatility lends itself to the chameleon Tailleferre: she switches from neoclassical to radical, tonal to bitonal, rhythmic and familiar to irregular and dissonant. Horvath is a great advocate.

-- The Guardian

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 08, 2022

  • Catalog Number: GP891

  • UPC: 747313989126

  • Label: Grand Piano

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Germaine Tailleferre

  • Performer: Nicolas Horvath