Benjamin Schmid - The Complete Oehms Classics Recordings

Regular price $47.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

It was a long-standing wish to combine all 18 albums recorded by Benjamin Schmid into one release because they yield an impressive mirror of this unique violinist’s concert activities. The desire was given new impetus by the two magnificent new albums Benjamin Schmid approved for release by OehmsClassics on the occasion of his fiftieth birthday in 2018. The prize-winning recordings of this set, covering almost five centuries, explain why Benjamin Schmid has been perceived by the music public not just as ‘the specialist’ in one individual field. Benjamin Schmid, a native of Vienna, has won a number of awards including the 1992 Carl Flesch Competition in London, where he also won the Mozart, Beethoven and audience prizes. Since then he has been a guest soloist in the world’s most renowned concert halls with prestigious orchestras. His soloistic quality, the range of his repertoire, and especially his improvisatory abilities in jazz make him a violinist with a unique profile.

Set contents in addition to individually listed works:

DISC 2: My favourite Paganini (Works by Paganini & others, arr. by F. Kreisler, etc)

DISC 3: Bach:Reflected (Improvisations on J. S. Bach)

DISC 7: Hommage à Grappelli

DISC 12: Fritz Kreisler - Originals and Adaptations for Jazz-Trio

DISC 20: Pièces de concert (Works of Bazzini, Saint-Saëns, Paganini, and more)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 14, 2018

  • Catalog Number: OC019

  • UPC: 4260034860193

  • Label: Oehms Classics

  • Number of Discs: 20

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák, Antonio Vivaldi, Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Eugène Ysaÿe, Felix Mendelssohn, Fritz Kreisler, Henri Wieniawski, Johann Sebastian Bach, Johannes Brahms, Karl Goldmark, Karol Szymanowski, Ludwig van Beethoven, Max Bruch, Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Robert Schumann, Witold Lutoslawski, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Cristian Mandeal, Daniel Raiskin, Seiji Ozawa, Tibor Bogányi

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bucharest George Enescu Philharmonic Orchestra, Camerata Salzburg, Cis Collegium Mozarteum Salzburg, Pannon Philharmonic Orchestra, Pro Arte String Quartet, Rheinische Philharmonie Staatsorchester, Salzburg Mozarteum Orchestra, Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Wroclaw State Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Alfredo Perl, Anthony Spiri, Ariane Haering, Benjamin Schmid, Clara Dent, David Frühwirth, Helge Rosenkranz, Henri Sigfridsson, Quirine Viersen, Ramon Jaffé, Sebastian Hess, Silke Avenhaus