Vladigerov: Orchestral Works, Vol. 2 / Vladigerov, Bulgarian National RSO

Regular price $22.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

In Bulgaria, both folk and art music evince an ancient tradition that strikes awe even in some of the great music nations today. The way Pancho Vladigerov incorporated these folk-music themes into his concert pieces shows not only his affinity for them but also suggests that he felt something of a calling to promulgate and champion the folk-traditions of his central European homeland. The most-performed work of Pancho Vladigerov’s is undoubtedly his Bulgarian Rhapsody op.16 “Vardar” from 1922. The most outstanding must be his Seven Symphonic Bulgarian Dances op.23 (1931), with which he might have wanted to create a counterpart to Brahms’ Hungarian Dances, Dvorák’s Slavonic Dances, or Grieg’s Norwegian Dances or similar such popular aural nationalistic postcards.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 02, 2021

  • Catalog Number: C8053

  • UPC: 845221080536

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Grigoras Dinicu, na Not Applicable, Pancho Vladigerov

  • Conductor: Alexander Vladigerov

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bulgarian National Radio Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Pancho Vladigerov