Onslow: String Quintets, Vol. 4 / Elan Quintet

Onslow: String Quintets, Vol. 4 / Elan Quintet

Regular price $11.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Georges Onslow is best known for a body of chamber music that follows the musical lineage of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven. A master of the quintet medium, Onslow offered variations of ensemble to players, the two presented here being cast for string quartet and double bass. The tempestuous Quintet No. 23 in A minor is charged with almost ceaseless nervous energy and Schubertian lyricism; the mature Quintet No.31 in A major is both subtle and elegant, with a brilliant assemblage of details such as walking bass and violin-cello duets.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8574187

  • UPC: 747313418770

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: George Onslow

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Elan Quintet