Widor: Organ Symphonies, Vol. 5 / Blohn

Widor: Organ Symphonies, Vol. 5 / Blohn

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Widor’s cycle of ten organ symphonies underwent profound development and transformation over many years. Classical elements became more obviously virtuosic and, by the time of these Op.42 symphonies, his musical language had become monumental. Symphony No. 5 in F minor is world famous for a single movement, its concluding Toccata, a moto perpetuo of astonishing brilliance, but the whole work is imbued with structural and musical genius. Striking rhythms, dynamic contrasts and technical roulades mark out Symphony No. 6 in G minor. Also included is a graceful movement from Symphony No. 8 (8.574207) that Widor later omitted.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8574279

  • UPC: 747313427970

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Charles-Marie Widor

  • Performer: Christian von Blohn