Vaughan Williams: Complete Symphonies / Hickox, A. Davis, LSO, Bergen Philharmonic

Regular price $47.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
To celebrate the 150th anniversary of the birth of Vaughan Williams, we are proud to reissue this outstanding symphony cycle. Started in 1999 by Richard...

To celebrate the 150th anniversary of the birth of Vaughan Williams, we are proud to reissue this outstanding symphony cycle. Started in 1999 by Richard Hickox and the London Symphony Orchestra, this was the first Vaughan Williams symphony cycle to be recorded in Surround Sound and released on Hybrid SACD. Tragically, Richard Hickox died before he was able to complete the project – a task that was undertaken by Sir Andrew Davis and the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra. This reissue is priced at 6 discs for the price of 2, and features almost an hour of bonus material – broadcast interviews with Sir Adrian Boult and Sir John Barbirolli, and reminiscences from both Ursula Vaughan Williams and the composer himself.

Praise for previously released recordings included in this set:

Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 2 / Hickox, London Symphony

Richard Hickox gives us the chance to hear VW's original, hour-long canvas – and riveting listening it makes too! Sprawling it may be, but this epic conception evinces a prodigal inventiveness, poetry, mystery, and vitality that do not pall with repeated hearings. An essential purchase for anyone remotely interested in British music.

-- Gramophone (2001 Recording of the Year)

Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 5 / Hickox, London Symphony

This is an exceptionally powerful yet deeply moving account of the Fifth. Aided by glowing, wide-ranging engineering, Hickox's is an urgently communicative reading. The first and third movements in particular emerge with an effortless architectural splendour and rapt authority, the climaxes built and resolved with mastery.

-- Gramophone

Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 8, "Sinfonia Antartica" / Davis, Bergen Philharmonic

The Bergen Phil finds a clear affinity with the Sinfonia Antartica...There’s an inexorability about this performance and a strong tragic undertow that makes it a compelling listen throughout. Davis authoritatively builds up the tension without any fussiness.

-- The Sunday Times (UK)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 17, 2022

  • UPC: 0095115530320

  • Catalog Number: CHSA 5303(6)

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 6

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Ralph Vaughan Williams

  • Conductor: Andrew Davis, Richard Hickox

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra, London Symphony Chorus, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Bergen Philharmonic Chorus

  • Performer: Susan Gritton, Gerald Finley, Rebecca Evans, Mari Eriksmoen


  1. Symphonies Nos. 1-9

    Composer: Ralph Vaighan Williams

    Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, London Symphony Chorus

    Performer: Susan Gritton (Soprano), Gerald Finley (Baritone), Rebecca Evans (Soprano), Mari Eriksmoen (Soprano)

    Conductor: Richard Hickox, Andrew Davis