Verbum caro factum est: A Christmas Greeting / Suzuki, Bach Collegium Japan

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki have sung of the wonders of Christmas a number of times, in Bach’s cantatas and Christmas Oratorio as well as in Handel’s Messiah. Here, instead, we hear the choir a cappella in a selection of classic Christmas carols. Masato Suzuki, son of the ensemble’s founder and director, has selected some of the best-loved songs of Christmas, such as Adeste fideles and Silent Night, as well as less familiar hymns, arranging them especially for these singers. A consummate organist, he also performs a number of Louis-Claude Daquin’s noëls variés – keyboard variations on Christmas songs which became a highly popular genre in 18th-century France.



The performances are typically classy, and punctuated by a selection of Daquin’s ‘Noels’ for solo organ, played with peppery registrations by Suzuki.

– BBC Music Magazine

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: BIS-2291

  • UPC: 7318599922911

  • Label: BIS

  • Composer: Anonymous, Felix Mendelssohn, Franz Xaver Gruber, Johann Sebastian Bach, John Francis Wade, Louis-Claude Daquin, Richard Storrs Willis, Samuel Scheidt, Traditional, William James Kirkpatrick

  • Conductor: Masaaki Suzuki

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bach Collegium Japan

  • Performer: Aki Matsui, Hiroya Aoki, Masato Suzuki