Vivaldi: Dixit Dominus, Gloria, Etc / Mallon, Aradia, Et Al

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This is the first of a new series devoted to the sacred works of Vivaldi...the engineering is clean, fresh, and open, capturing the acoustic of Grace Church on the Hill, Toronto, to pleasing effect. Mallon’s chorus immediately makes a strong impression, with vital, strongly committed and projected singing that is obviously going to provide his cycle with one of its major strengths. Much the same might be said of the soloists he fields here...his wonderful alto Nathalie Stutzmann bringing to these solos richly dignified and authoritative singing...there are many fine moments in the Irish conductor’s performance, the choruses again distinguished by vibrant, incisive singing, and soprano Jane Archibald contributing an appealing “Domine Deus, agnus Dei.” Archibald is also impressively fearless in the high-flying tessitura of the motet Nulla in mundo, singing the beguilingly blissful opening aria, taken dangerously slowly, with winning freshness, finding real dramatic significance in the central recitative and negotiating the coloratura of the demanding final aria and Alleluia with a radiant, confident security. This is, then, an auspicious beginning. Anyone attracted by Naxos’s low prices to the idea of collecting the new series can certainly go ahead in the knowledge that they are likely to be in possession of a real bargain. - Brian Robins, FANFARE

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8557445

  • UPC: 747313244522

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi

  • Conductor: Kevin Mallon

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Aradia Ensemble

  • Performer: Anita Krause, Giles Tomkins, Jane Archibald, Michele de Boer, Nils Brown, Peter Mahon