Vivian Fung: Dreamscapes

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Vivian Fung’s work is influenced by Asian sources such as Balinese gamelan music. Violin Concerto soloist Kristin Lee’s shared experience of Bali with the composer resulted in an intensely lyrical and virtuoso work in which West and East collide to create music of remarkably fresh sophistication. Fung draws on John Cage’s ‘prepared’ piano techniques to create often eerie and otherworldly effects in Glimpses, ideas from which expand into the Piano Concerto. Subtitled ‘Dreamscapes’, this work explores contrasts ranging from hauntingly sustained calm to moments of brutal power.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8573009

  • UPC: 747313300976

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Vivian Fung

  • Conductor: Andrew Cyr

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Metropolis Ensemble

  • Performer: Conor Hanick, Kristin Lee