Crossing Borders: A Musical Journey / Yo-Yo Ma - ArkivMusic

Crossing Borders: A Musical Journey / Yo-Yo Ma

Regular price $28.98
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Sony Classical is pleased to announce a new batch of reissues from the CBS/Sony and RCA Victor/BMG back catalogues. This latest instalment of the popular series showcases Mozart and Chopin along with conductor Robert Craft’s pioneering Webern recordings and the global journeys of that irrepressible musical explorer Yo-Yo Ma.

The supremely versatile Yo-Yo Ma has been aptly referred to as a musical omnivore. In addition to all the significant classical works written for his instrument, the eclectic cellist has passionately embraced the music of Latin America and Asia as well as American bluegrass and jazz. Seven of his most adventurous and acclaimed musical journeys have been collected by Sony Classical in a CD box entitled “Crossing Borders”. They include Appalachia Waltz and Appalachian Journey with Mark O’Connor and Edgar Meyer (Grammy 1998: “Best Classical Crossover Album”); Soul of the Tango – The Music of Astor Piazzolla (Grammy 1997: “Best Classical Crossover Album”); Obrigado Brazil – traditional songs and compositions by Antônio Carlos Jobim and Pixinguinha (Grammy 2000: “Best Classical Crossover Album”); Silk Road Journeys: When Strangers Meet and Japanese MelodiesAnything Goes: the cellist playing mostly Cole Porter with Stephane Grappelli; and, last but not least: Hush, his famous collaboration with Bobby McFerrin.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 21, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 19439916202

  • UPC: 194399162026

  • Label: Sony

  • Number of Discs: 9

  • Composer: Sergei Rachmaninoff, Antonio Vivaldi, Claude Bolling, Edgar Meyer, Astor Piazzolla, Cole Porter

  • Performer: Yo-Yo Ma