Zelenka: I Penitenti al Sepolcro / Luks, Collegium 1704

Zelenka: I Penitenti al Sepolcro / Luks, Collegium 1704

Regular price $10.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Prague-based ensemble Collegium 1704 and its founder Vaclav Luks here perform an oratorio by the Czech composer Jan Dismas Zelenka. This edifying work, typical of the oratorios produced during the Counter-Reformation, presents the faithful with an imaginary meeting of Mary Magdalene, King David and St Peter at the Tomb of Christ. After the success of the Red, Yellow, Blue, Pink and White collections (a total of sixty reissues) which gave a new lease of life to the pearls of the Baroque catalogues from our house labels, here are fourteen new titles which offer a chance to discover other treasures, whether Baroque or dating from an earlier or later era. Like the most recent series, this sixth instalment opens out onto the Classical repertory (Mozart by Ensemble 415 and Chiara Banchini) and the Renaissance (Févin by Doulce Mémoire and Denis Raisin Dadre); recordings that are an integral part of Alpha’s identity and history. Fourteen reissues performed by the leading musicians in the field, most of which received one or more awards on their original release. Proper booklets accompany the discs, with notes in three languages (French, English, German). Photographers from all over the world have been selected to illustrate the covers, this time with the guiding thread of the color green, a symbol of nature, fertility... and hope!

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: ALPHA622

  • UPC: 3760014196225

  • Label: Alpha

  • Composer: Jan Dismas Zelenka

  • Conductor: Václav Luks

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Collegium 1704, Collegium Vocale 1704

  • Performer: Eric Stoklossa, Mariana Rewerski, Tobias Berndt