Bach: Mass In B Minor / Suzuki, Bach Collegium Japan

Regular price $39.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This is a hybrid Super Audio CD playable on both regular and Super Audio CD players.


From within the midriff of the BIS cantata project, Masaaki Suzuki presents the last of his recordings of Bach’s four extant large-scale choral masterpieces. This is, as you would expect, a B minor performance of extraordinary devotional weight, as its resonant surround sound irradiates the score in a patiently constructed explication.

[The] Gloria fairly crackles and Suzuki’s careful voicing between singers and instrumentalists generates extraordinary revelations (such as the consoling beauty of the “Qui tollis” and, later, a remarkable reading of the Sanctus). The choral movements are admirably unhurried but purposeful, the light and lithe sopranos glowing like Jupiter on a clear night...“Et in unum Dominum” (with the admirable Carolyn Sampson and Robin Blaze) reveals its expectant delights, as does Blaze’s heart-stopping Agnus Dei.

[A] rounded and impressive reading whose “Dona nobis pacem” encapsulates the best of Suzuki: committed, life-affirming and generous.

-- Jonathan Freeman-Attwood, Gramophone [2/2008]

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 01, 2007

  • Catalog Number: BIS-SACD-1701-02

  • UPC: 7318591701026

  • Label: BIS

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Conductor: Masaaki Suzuki

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bach Collegium Japan

  • Performer: Carolyn Sampson, Gerd Türk, Peter Kooy, Rachel Nicholls, Robin Blaze


  1. Mass in B minor, BWV 232

    Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

    Ensemble: Bach Collegium Japan

    Performer: Robin Blaze (Countertenor), Peter Kooy (Bass), Rachel Nicholls (Soprano), Carolyn Sampson (Soprano), Gerd Türk (Tenor)

    Conductor: Masaaki Suzuki